Tuesday, March 11, 2014

NetApp E-Series Introduction

This is going to be a bit rough and free-form, but this a crash course and "what you actually care about" into NetApp E-Series.  Enjoy!
  • SANtricity is the e-series “filerview” or “system manager.”  Install it on your laptop and directly plug into the system.  Alternatively, set it up like OnCommand on a management server and it will monitor your systems and allow you to manage them from there.
  • There is no “ONTAP.”  It’s SANtricity ES Storage Manager in format 10.86.xx and controller firmware in the format 07.86.xx
  • Systems in SANtricity are referred to as “arrays.”  Each array is two controllers, in one chassis.  The chassis SN is the identifying, unique feature.  Controllers also have SN's.
  • ESM (environment service module?) is the IOM for shelves.
  • Disks are laying in trays you have to slide out to access the disks.

In ONTAP there are two kinds of RAID, RAID4 or RAID6.  But there’s only one kind of aggregate.  In e-series, there are 2.  These are the 2 aggregate equivalents in e-series:

Volume Group: disks put together and assigned a RAID level.  8+2 is recommended.  Can lose 2 in RAID 6.  You can set this to RAID5 though.

Dynamic Disk Pool (DDP):  disks put together with RAID spread across the disks.  Can lose 2/RAID group.  Details below:

I highly recommend reading the key terms portion of pages 1, 65, 66.  Cleared a lot of things up for me!

No comments:

Post a Comment